Who We Are


The CWHHA consists of nearly 200 members from across Canada consisting of clinicians, scientists, allied health professionals, program administrators, and patient partners. The CWHHA is powered by the Canadian Women’s Heart Health Centre at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute with funding support from the University of Ottawa Heart Institute Foundation.

Our Vision:

To improve women's cardiovascular health across the lifespan.

Our Mission:

To support clinicians, scientists, patients, and decision-makers to implement evidence, transform clinical practices and impact public policy related to women’s cardiovascular health. 

Our Structure:

Alliance governance structure



To determine the best methods and means to enhance awareness about women’s cardiovascular health in multiple communities and constituencies across Canada and to stimulate new interest in the field of women’s cardiovascular health.

Health Systems and Policy

To explore cost effective strategies to improve and monitor women’s cardiovascular health, and to promote these strategies based on findings.

Knowledge Translation and Mobilization

To translate existing and new knowledge about cardiovascular health and disease in women; and create sex-specific guidelines, tools and programs focused on improving outcomes for women in Canada.

Training and Education

To determine the best methods and means to enhance education and training about specific cardiovascular issues affecting women. Projects target various audiences such as the general public, physicians, nurses, students and allied health staff in a phased approach.




2022: CWHHA receives Harold N. Seagall Award of Merit at CCS Recognition Awards

This award was created in 1991 in honour of the late Dr. Harold N. Segall, who was a founding Member of the CCS and for many years served as the Society’s Archivist. It is offered in recognition of a significant contribution to the prevention of cardiovascular disease or the promotion of cardiovascular health in Canadians. View all CCC Awards.